What If I Can’t?

Ok. This is it. The final Essay. I have to do good on this. 

And you will, don’t worry.

Easy for you to say, you’re just my conscience 

Why would that make a difference? I’m helping you out by providing valuable intel about the subject, which I get from pulling information from your memories. Honestly, I have the bigger job here.

I guess so. It’s just–

Here we go.

What if it isn’t good?

What do you mean?

Like, what if I mess it up or get my facts wrong?

Ok. If you get your facts wrong, you correct them. Simple. Now, start. 

Wait, wait, wait. What if I don’t know I got my facts wrong and I lead a bunch of readers astray?

That isn’t your fault. Everyone knows not to believe everything they read. 

But what if someone corrects me?

If someone corrects you, you check their sources, see if their correct, and if they are, you fix your mistake. Easy. 

What if they’re the ones who are wrong?

Then you either kindly point out where they are wrong, or you thank them for their input and go on your way. Now, write.

I’m pretty thirsty, I’m going to get a drink.

There’s a drink right next to you. You grabbed it when you passed the counter.

Oh, yeah…..Well, I have to go to the bathroom.

Okay, stop making excuses. Why won’t you finish the essay?

I think I have a headache. 

…..

What?

Your procrastination is getting out of hand.

Is not.

I’m not going to argue with you, go to the next tab on your computer and finish the freaking essay.

No.

Why Not?

What if I can’t?

Can’t what?

What if I can’t come up with enough words? What if I can’t think of anything to say? What if I don’t make a good grade on it? What if I don’t give enough information? What if–

Okay, okay, stop. All of these excuses would be valid, if not for one thing.

What’s that?

You can. You are fully able. You did so this entire year. So start. It’s okay to mess up, you can just delete the sentence and start over again. So stop worrying, go to the next tab, and finish your year strong.

Alright.

 

 

Leave a Reply

