Chapter 4: The Road

Hello once more! I hope you are enjoying this book! If you aren’t then don’t worry, I will post some other things too! If you are enjoying this book *evil smile* you ain’t seen nothing yet! 

The sunrise would have been a perfect sketch if I had enough time to sketch it. I had eaten a little bit of beef jerky for breakfast but Hazel didn’t have anything. We didn’t talk much. I say we, I mean Hazel. I just couldn’t keep my mouth shut about what I had been through. “The wind pulled at me!” I said, “I felt like I was being tossed around!”. She looked at me again. She had been doing that way more often now that we were introduced. “What?” I asked suspiciously.
“It wasn’t the wind.”
She said it with a straight face. Though I really couldn’t tell with the hood covering her expressions, I could sense it.
“Then what was it?”
“You really want to know?”
I looked at her with a serious look in my eyes. Well, I couldn’t tell if it was serious but I was trying to act serious.
“Demons.”
I stopped dead in my tracks. Oh you’ve got to be kidding me! Demons?! As if I hadn’t had enough already!
‘’You can’t be serious! Demons?’’
“Yep!”
She turned around. I could tell she was getting tired of answering all my questions.
“Say you stop every time I give you an unbelievable answer. How long would a three mile hike take? Probably 24 hours. If you kept walking at the same pace, it would no less than 3 hours. So where does that put us the map of time?”
“Ok, ok I won’t stop every time you answer a question. It’s just, demons? Really? How do you know?”
She stopped.
“Hang on! You just told me not to stop every time a question comes my way!” I asked feeling quite smart that I had that come back on my tongue.
She didn’t move. She was staring at something. I moved a little closer to her.
“Uh…Hazel?”
As I moved closer, I could see what she was staring at. There was a canyon underneath and across the ground we were standing on. It was huge!
“How did I not notice this before?” I asked in awe.
Hazel was looking down into the ravine. I could see a plan forming in the dimness of her eyes.
“Hmm. This could work.” She said as she stretched her arm out.
“What could work?”
Her hand was wobbling slightly. She backed up quickly and grabbed a pebble and she threw it into the ravine. The pebble flew through the air and landed in the middle of the ravine. Except it was floating. It was floating at our ground level, like an invisible road was there. I looked back at Hazel. She was doing something I hadn’t seen her do. She was smiling. No, not smiling, laughing. I just wanted to live in that moment forever. The moment where Hazel was looking at something so impossible, she was laughing at it. I didn’t say anything, I just watched the pebble. Hazel stepped forward off the cliff. She stood still and stable.
“What the?” I asked as I slowly joined her. She smiled again.
“It’s an invisible road. Some call it a Hologram. Some call it magic. I call it amazing.” Hazel explained as she started walking across the invisible road. “Obviously, someone doesn’t want us to go this way….and I bet I know who it is.”
“Who?” I asked
“Hmm? Oh, nevermind.”
“What? Hazel, if you know who it is, you should tell me.”
“Eh. Fine. I think it was Coniby”
We had reached the other side of the canyon. I looked down one last time before stepping onto visible ground.
“Why Coniby? Because he said not to trust you?” I pushed for an answer. Hazel kept walking. It was freezing cold in the shade and that’s all we were walking on. I was panting a little bit and wished I had brought a water bottle. “You didn’t answer my question.” I said.
“Well, choosing Coniby as the culprit for putting the invisible road there was my opinion. And he said ‘Don’t trust her’ emphasis on her. There are a number of her’s in these woods.”
“Okay.”
We kept walking in silence. I took off my jacket and put it in my bag. I was burning up. Cold one minute and hot the next. I had to keep putting on my jacket and then five minutes later, take it off. It was really annoying and Hazel was starting to notice. She would shake her head, smile, and roll her eyes. Even though I looked silly, I was glad she was enjoying her self.
“Don’t you ever get hot wearing that cloak all the time?” I asked
“Well, it’s really comfortable.”
“That didn’t answer my question.”
“I don’t get hot and I don’t get cold while wearing this cloak.”
“Let me guess why,” I said, “It’s just right!”
She smiled and nodded her head. “Yep.” She said. I wasn’t trying to look tired and I wasn’t trying to look thirsty, but I couldn’t help it. She walked at a steady pace and I was falling behind. I had to accept that I wasn’t as fit as I’d want to be at the moment. Should’ve said yes to all those times Mike had invited me to the gym….Mike. Where was he? Was he dead? What would he say about all of this? Is this a dream? Am I dreaming? Studies show that gamers have lucid dreaming most of the time. Is this a lucid dream? I haven’t played any games lately. Why’d everyone disappear? Where was everyone? How come Hazel seems to be the only one here? Is she a ghost? Is she even real? Is it possible that I just dreamed her up? No! I couldn’t have dreamed up something like her. It’s impossible. Why? How? Where? When? Thoughts pounded in my head. I couldn’t see where I was going. I tried to concentrate but my eyes were blurry. Why are my eyes blurry? I’m not crying! I’m not even sad! I’m just confused! Ok, ok, ok, ok. Calm yourself Johnny, the more you get worked up, the more you’ll overreact! It was then I noticed that Hazel had stopped and was staring at me. She held something in her hand. What? What is it? Is it a pistol? Is she going to shoot me? Is that the murder weapon used to kill my family? It’s  glittering like a gun! My thoughts were running away with my imagination. I couldn’t stop them. I had no control over my body…
 
Suddenly I was on the ground gasping for air. What the heck?! How did I get here? Hazel was propping me up against a rock. She was holding the glittering thing next to my face. My mouth was dry and I felt like a zombie. I couldn’t move. Hazel was saying something. All I could see was her mouth moving. My whole world was on a mute. So this is what it’s like to be deaf  I thought. I was shaking. My body was out of control…
 
I felt something cold and wonderful flowing into my mouth…
 
I felt like I was falling. Forever falling through my memories. I could see Mike and Annie talking about what they were going to cook on our trip. I saw Mom and Dad scolding Sherlock for going to the bathroom in our house. Finally, I saw me. I was yelling something. I couldn’t hear anything. Suddenly I was on the ground. I was in the forest. There was green grass all around. I stood up…
The other me was there too. His clothes were in rags. He had cuts all over his face and arms. His hair was dirty with blood and dirt. He looked like he had just lost a war. He was at a distance. As soon as he saw me, he ran towards me. I backed up a little. It didn’t look like he was slowing down. He gained speed as he came near. I tried to run but I was stuck to the grass. I braced myself for impact.
 
I was on the ground…
He was on top of me…
He was saying something. This time I could hear him clearly.
“Sorry about this Johnny” He said.
I gave him a questioned look and in the next moment, I felt nothing but his fist against my face.
 
I was gasping. Different realities, different worlds, different dimensions flew past me…
I closed my eyes…
 
I heard screeching. I opened my eyes and saw what memory I was in. Mike, Annie and other me were cuddling Sherlock. I looked towards the woods and saw Hazel. And then I saw something else. Black figures all around Mike and Annie. They were yelling and screaming. Clawing at them with their sharp black claws. There was one in front of Hazel…
She was staring right at it…
She was talking to it…
I moved closer…
“You don’t know what you’re getting into.” Hazel said. The dark figure was whispering something.
“You want to bet?” She retorted. The black figure seemed very upset.
“You know, you are nothing compared to what he is. He has faith.” The figure laughed. His cackle rang throughout the woods. The figure spoke again, this time in a deeper voice.
“Ha! You wish!” Hazel said.
A figure looked at me. It screamed…
All of the figures turned towards me and lunged. I tried to move but once again, I was stuck to the dirt…
All I could see was darkness….
3 thoughts on “Chapter 4: The Road

  1. KawaiiWriturd April 17, 2015 / 3:40 pm

    😮 o
    m
    g
    OMG
    OM
    G
    i cant even
    this is my lief
    i cant even
    its too great
    its too good
    AND I HAVEN’T SEEN NOTHING YET? AND EVIL SMILE?
    MistyOceans, you never cease to amaze me.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. mistyoceans April 17, 2015 / 3:58 pm

    I AM SO EXCITED!!!!!!!!!!!! HOLY COW! I CAN’T EVEN! I CANNOT EVEN TELL YOU HOW EXCITED I AM! OH MY GOODNESS! I CAN’T! I JUST CANNOT TELL YOU HOW MUCH I AM SO EXCITED FOR YOU! IT’S SO TRUE! YOU AIN’T SEE NOTHING YET GIRL! NOTHING! I MIGHT POST TWO CHAPTERS NEXT WEEK! 0_0 I MIGHT EVEN POST A CHAPTER THIS WEEK AND THEN TWO CHAPTERS NEXT WEEK! O_O 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀 🙂 THANK YOU SO MUCH! I AM REALLY EXCITED THAT YOU LIKE MY BOOK! 😀 I CAN’T EVEN! Girl. Girl. This is hilarious. I almost fell out of my seat watching that video and reading your comment! But seriously. You ain’t see nothin. >.< XD

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

