My Prized Book Review

Hello and welcome to my prized book review! Today I will comparing two very long books that you might be familiar with. Before we get started I want to say that I am thankful to be alive. It’s random and true! Ok, NOW we can get started!

The Scarlet Pimpernel 

This book takes place around the French Revolution. It is a book containing a cup of mystery, a shake of rebellion, a scoop of adventure, a hint of love and a dash of sacrifice. This is the recipe for The Scarlet Pimpernel.  

The Scarlet Pimpernel is about a mysterious being named the Scarlet Pimpernel. They get important documents from the bad guys and give them to the good guys. Kinda like a robin hood except i’m pretty sure they don’t dress in a green robe and that the good guys aren’t poor…or are they?! So as the story goes on, the Scarlet Pimpernel’s identity is slowly revealed. Many people start to suspect who it might be and it gets harder and harder to act in secret. If your into stuff like mystery and adventure and romance then i’ll bet you’ll like this book. As a wise someone(me) once said,” It might be hard to be someone else, but it is harder to keep the secret….or is it?!”. You get that type of vibe while reading it. That vibe you get when you know something awesome is about to happen? Like on your favorite show you hear that melody that they play when something awesome is gonna happen. That melody that they play and you say, “Uh huh, yep, that’s right! It’s about to go down! You know what I’m saying! “. Like when you’re ‘Eleventh Doctor  Homesick’ and you watch old episodes because you don’t have cable so you can’t watch new episodes, and you’re watching and you here ‘Next stop everywhere’ start to play! And you be like, “BOOM! THAT’S RIGHT YOU CAN’T KILL THE DOCTOR! UH HUH! HE ALWAYS FIND A WAY TO BE AWESOME AND SURVIVE!” 

A Tale Of Two Cities

Now this book takes place before and at the start of The French Revolution. It’s is about the lives of the people throughout the Revolution. Focused on one life in particular we can see into the pain, excitement and danger they get into. Unlike other reviews, I won’t be talking much about the plot. More on the feeling and the setting. Now, through out the book you can see not only the life of one person, but it also shows you peeks into others. It’s like your walking right next to everyone, seeing what they see, doing as they do. You’re a mail man, delivering things to others and you step in a puddle and fee the icy cold water splash on to your boot, seeping through the cloth onto your bare skin. You’re a villager who sees an expensive wine crashing to the ground, echoing across the ally walls as every head turns and every mouth waters. You’re a mother, with a toddler and a baby, who can barely find enough food to keep them full for a day, suffering because of the cold at night. You’re a soldier fighting all day and going to sleep at night with the thought, “Will I survive tonight? Will I die tomorrow? How will my family survive? What if they’re dead? What if we get ambushed? What if, what if, what if..”. You’re a fancy snob who has so much money and cares so little about the commoners, who cant get up without help, who thinks they’re life will end when they’re isn’t enough wine and cake to stuff you. Now these examples have nothing to do with the book, but it has that type of setting. Like your right there. Like when a gun fires you move your head slightly so you wont get hit. And when someone dies, who they never mentioned but everyone knew, you find your self feeling sorry and crying for no reason. That is what it is like to be in depth or into a book. And that is how this book is. I just have one complaint. The title….I don’t get it.

Comparing

Now, I would like to compare these two books in they’re differences and they’re similarities. Let’s begin!

Differences 

Ok, so! First of all, Ones a tale and I’m pretty sure the others a story. 😀 Next thing is that they were written by totally different authors! They…hmm…well I think that’s about it for the differences…huh..thought there’d be more. 

Similarities 

Ok, so! They both take place around, if not during, the French Revolution. They both have a poor peoples setting. They both are in a very….uh….weird town. They both have to do with guillotines(no duh its the french revolution, the time where guillotines were popular). They all have a good and bad guy. They both have a mysterious air. They both have loving husbands and wife’s. And they are both good books.

Opinion 

In my opinion, I really didn’t enjoy either of these books. Now I know I said they were good books and I described them as so perfect but honestly I didn’t enjoy them. In fairness, I wasn’t lying about the feelings they give off, I was telling the truth. Now this is my opinion and my opinion only so please remember that. (This is an actual fact) if you walk up to an adult and ask their opinion on A Tale Of Two Cities or The Scarlet Pimpernel they will most likely say the following, “YES I ABSOLUTELY ADORED THOSE BOOKS WHEN I WAS YOUR AGE” or ,” AH YES THE TALE OF THE TWO CITIES, YES I REMEMBER THAT. GOOD WRITING AND GREAT PLOT!”. You know what? This is the reaction I got when I said I didn’t enjoy it,”WHAT?! ARE YOU SERIOUS?! GIRL YOU CANNOT BE SERIOUS! YOU DIDN’T LIKE IT?! YOU HAVE NO TASTE or, “WAIT, YOU DIDN’T LIKE IT? WHATS WRONG WITH YOU?! YOU DIDN’T LIKE IT? WELL WHEN YOUR LIKE 24 THEN GO BACK AND READ IT AGAIN AND I PROMISE YOU YOU’LL LOVE IT!”. I’m keeping that person accountable to their word when I’m 24. But no, I did not enjoy it. 

If I were to choose a book to like, it would probable be a Tale Of Two Cities(if you couldn’t already tell by the length difference). I like Charles Dickens a lot and though I didn’t find this as interesting, it doesn’t mean I hate him all together, but Baroness Emma Orczy (who wrote The Scarlet Pimpernel) is a good writer and just because I didn’t like this one doesn’t mean I won’t like all of them. 

I thank you for getting through me essay. It was a tough journey I know but good job soldier! I salute you! Please in the comments below say what your favorite book is! And watch an eleventh Doctor re run for me! 

Leave a Reply

